Page quality:
Not rated
Home / Results / Series / FIA GT Championship

FIA GT Championship :: Overview


Duration :: 1997 - 2009
Replaced by :: FIA GT1 World Championship
Sanctioning Body :: Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile
Vehicles :: Gran Turismos
Discipline :: Road Racing
Status :: European Championship

In 1997 the FIA became the governing body of the BPR Championship. So it was renamed to FIA Grand Touring Championship. During the first two years Porsche, McLaren and Mercedes fought for the title of the GT1 prototypes. The GT2 class was also competing since 1997. In 1999 it became the only class and was renamed to GT. In 2000 a new class joined the championship, the N-GT class. Those cars are basically the same as GT3 or the LM-GT class.
In 2001 the championship organizers teamed up with Eurosport. All the following race weekends where part of the Eurosport Super-Racing-Weekends. The feature series during these events was the European Touring Car Championship.

Seasons in detail


Drivers GT1
2009Andrea Bertolini
Michael Bartels
(Maserati MC12)
2008Andrea Bertolini
Michael Bartels
(Maserati MC12)
2007Thomas Biagi
(Maserati MC12)
2006Andrea Bertolini
Michael Bartels
(Maserati MC12)
2005Gabriele Gardel
(Ferrari 550 Maranello)
1998Klaus Ludwig
Ricardo Zonta
(Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR/LM)
1997Bernd Schneider
(Mercedes-Benz CLK GTR)
Drivers GT2
2009Richard Westbrook
2008Gianmaria Bruni
Toni Vilander
(Ferrari 430 GT2)
2007Dirk Müller
Toni Vilander
(Ferrari 430 GT2)
2006Jaime Melo
Matteo Bobbi
(Ferrari 430 GT2)
2005Marc Lieb
Mike Rockenfeller
(Porsche 996 GT3-RSR)
1998Olivier Beretta
Pedro Lamy
(Chrysler Viper GTS-R)
1997Justin Bell
(Porsche 911 GT2)
Drivers GT
2004Fabrizio Gollin
Luca Cappellari
(Ferrari 550 Maranello)
2003Matteo Bobbi
Thomas Biagi
(Ferrari 550 Maranello)
2002Christophe Bouchut
(Chrysler Viper GTS-R)
2001Christophe Bouchut
Jean-Philippe Belloc
(Chrysler Viper GTS-R)
2000Jamie Campbell-Walter
Julian Bailey
(Lister Storm)
1999Karl Wendlinger
Olivier Beretta
(Chrysler Viper GTS-R)
Drivers N-GT
2004Lucas Luhr
Sascha Maassen
(Porsche 996 GT3-RSR)
2003Marc Lieb
Stéphane Ortelli
(Porsche 996 GT3-RS)
2002Stéphane Ortelli
(Porsche 996 GT3-R)
2001Christian Pescatori
David Terrien
2000Christophe Bouchut
Patrice Goueslard
Manufacturers GT1
2006Aston Martin
Manufacturers GT2
Teams GT
2004BMS Scuderia Italia
2003BMS Scuderia Italia
2002Larbre Competition Chéreau
2001Larbre Competition Chéreau
2000Lister Storm Racing
Teams GT1
2009Vitaphone Racing Team
2008Vitaphone Racing Team
2007Vitaphone Racing Team
2006Vitaphone Racing Team
2005Vitaphone Racing Team
1998AMG Mercedes
1997AMG Mercedes
Teams GT2
2009AF Corse
2008AF Corse
2007AF Corse Motorola
2006AF Corse
2005GruppeM Racing
1998Viper Team Oreca
1997Viper Team Oreca
Teams N-GT
2004Freisinger Yukos Motorsport
2003Freisinger Motorsport
2002Freisinger Motorsport
2001JMB Competition
2000Larbre Competition